# Thomas County Board of Education Minutes March 28, 2017, 6:00 PM

# **Attendees - voting members**

Ms. Nancy Hiers	Chair
Mr. Derwood Hickey	Vice Chair
Mr. David Dawson	Board Member
Mr. Charles Evans	Board Member
Mr. Mark NeSmith	Board Member
Mr. Dan Stewart	Board Member
Mrs. Kay P. Streets	Board Member
<u> Attendees - other</u>	
Dr. George H. Kornegay	Superintendent
Robin Cartright	Coordinator of Secondary Education and Professional Learning
Mrs. Melanie Chavaux	Associate Superintendent
Mr. Wes Davis	Technology Director
Dr. Bob Dechman	Director of Accountability and Federal Programs
Mrs. Carol Gerald	Administrative Assistant
Mr. Joey Holland	Assistant Superintendent for Finance & Operations
Erin Rehberg	Digital Learning & Media Services Coordinator
Robin Shaver	Coordinator of Elementary Instruction & New Teacher Induction
Scott Sweeting	Project Lead the Way Coordinator
Mrs. Lisa Williams	Associate Superintendent

### I. Call to Order

### II. Invocation/Blessing

### III. Consent agenda

<u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Derwood Hickey <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Dan Stewart <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved A. Agenda B. Out of district students

C. Fundraising request(s)

### **IV.** Personnel report

<u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Mark NeSmith <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Dan Stewart <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

### V. Staff Updates (see attachments)

- A. Budget Joey Holland
  - 1. Preliminary amended FY2017 budget
  - 2. Proposed changes to Title ad valorem tax
  - 3. Proposed changes to Forestland Protection Act
  - 4. Federal budget outlook
- B. Student services Lisa Williams
- C. Accreditation interim report Bob Dechman
- D. Grant programs Melanie Chavaux
- E. Technology vision, mission, and goals Erin Rehberg
- F. Math and science initiatives Scott Sweeting
- G. Social studies standards Robin Cartright

#### Page 2 Thomas County Board of Education Minutes

- H. Professional learning Robin Cartright
- I. New teacher induction Robin Shaver

# VI. Annual board member ethics review - Bill Sampson, GSBA

# VII. Legislative updates - Bill Sampson

# VIII. Board standards - Bill Sampson

# IX. Leadership succession planning - Bill Sampson

## X. Adjournment Motion made by: Mr. Charles Evans

Motion made by: Mr. Charles Evans Motion seconded by: Mr. Dan Stewart Voting: Unanimously Approved

Chairperson

Secretary